Tactics? What tactics?

17dotrow02a_2

Future Tactics: The Uprising

Future Tactics: The Uprising (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bob Seidensticker: I’m not sure what you mean by “tactics.” Maybe you mean “playing games” or “being argumentative”? I’m not sure. But I infer from your email that “I disapprove of the use of ‘tactics’” means “I don’t like it when people push back against my charges.” Feel free to disagree. And to clarify what “tactics” you disapprove of.


Response: You infer? There is no reason to infer anything. When I say tactics, I mean tactics; the disingenuous rhetorical tricks and ploys you use in the absence of sincerity and sound reasoning. The manipulative contrivances, or tactics, I have seen you demonstrate include a variety of logical fallacies. For example, your phony inference and your implication of charges look like innuendo or begging the question. I have seen you use variations of that strategy numerous times. In your comments online, there are countless incidents of another game you play; switching the burden of proof, which is an evasion or diversion tactic. It isn’t hard to find straw man fallacies, deceptive use of loaded words, and other types of “untruths” in your emails. However, I am not into “quibbling over definitions.” The labeling terminology is insignificant. I simply don’t like dishonesty or manipulativeness. I recognized your linguistic tactics, although I was bewildered at first because I assumed that you were a man of reasonable integrity. I had not seen your irrational malevolence before. Up until then, you had kept the true nature of your character hidden behind what one might call a mask of sanity. Later, I realized how your simpler ploys were smokescreens for much more sinister manipulative strategies. From recognizing behavior patterns and from research, I don’t hesitate to regard you as a man without a conscience. Maybe your arrogance reflects a belief that your conning abilities make you smarter or more superior than other people, and that honesty, straight-forwardness, and personal responsibility are pathetic and contemptible attributes. Feel free to disagree. And to spell out what charges you are insinuating.


Leave a Reply

